20230616 - 2026

Hamburger Bahnhof – Nationalgalerie der Gegenwart, Berlin.
Spatial intervention / exhibition design for the groupshow 'Nationalgalerie: A Collection for the 21st Century'.

The Hamburger Bahnhof presents a multi-layered panorama of Berlin's art scene and the city itself, spanning from the threshold of the opening of the Berlin Wall through to the present. With the new presentation of the collection in the west wing, the Hamburger Bahnhof invites the public to reflect on the role of art and cultural institutions in fostering inclusion, engagement and social transformation.
Some 80 artworks, including paintings, works on paper, sculptures, photographs and videos, explore the sociopolitical and economic factors that have shaped the city and the artistic practices to have emerged from within it.
For the first time, the Nationalgalerie’s contemporary art holdings will enter into a long-term exchange with the art collection of the German Federal Government and the collection of the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations. The exhibition will be further enriched by a selection of significant new acquisitions. Familiar major works will be shown alongside others that have rarely, if ever, been shown before.

The exhibition is curated by Sam Bardaouil and Till Fellrath, directors of the Hamburger Bahnhof & Catherine Nichols, curator at the Hamburger Bahnhof.
Thanks at Luisa Bachmann, Nicolas Campbell, Ruudi Beier, Mathias Westebbe, Benjamin Scherkus and everybody involved in building this one!

Artists on display: Absalon, Franz Ackermann, Akinbode Akinbiyi, Nevin Aladağ, Kader Attia, Nairy Baghramian, Tina Bara, Sibylle Bergemann, Sophie Calle, Isaac Chong Wai, Edith Dekyndt, Jason Dodge, Haris Epaminonda, Ayşe Erkmen, EVA & ADELE, Rainer Fetting, Dan Flavin, Thomas Florschuetz, Annette Frick, Isa Genzken, Petrit Halilaj & Álvaro Urbano, Flaka Haliti, Mona Hatoum, Georg Herold, Sabine Herrmann, Rebecca Horn, Annette Kelm, Anselm Kiefer, Klaus Killisch, Martin Kippenberger, Barbara Klemm, Jannis Kounellis, Ignas Krunglevicius, Alicja Kwade, Klara Lidén, Marwan, Julie Mehretu, Olaf Nicolai, Emeka Ogboh, Manfred Paul, Hermann Pitz, Sigmar Polke, SUSI POP, Robert Rauschenberg, Daniel Richter, Thomas Ruff, Anri Sala, Selma Selman, Timur Si-Qin, Katharina Sieverding, Florian Slotawa, Wolfgang Tillmans, Haegue Yang, Corinne Wasmuht, Carrie Mae Weems, Rachel Whiteread, Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt, Holly Zausner.

stability check: IR Elise Vandewalle
Pictures: Michiel De Cleene